Grassroots Referee Recertification Practice Test 2025 – The All-in-One Guide to Master Your Recertification!

Question: 1 / 400

An attacker in an offside position receives the ball from a defender's deflection. Is this considered an offside offense?

No, because the ball was deflected

When an attacker in an offside position receives the ball after a defender's deflection, this situation is not considered an offside offense because the touch from the defender is deemed an unintentional play of the ball. According to the laws of the game, a player cannot be penalized for being in an offside position if they receive the ball directly from an opponent who is not attempting to deliberately play the ball. A deflection is usually considered to fit this criteria, meaning the defender did not intentionally pass or play the ball to the attacker.

The other options suggest scenarios where offside might have been applied. For instance, simply being in an offside position does not automatically mean an offense is incurred, nor does it matter if the player interferes with the opponent as long as the ball came from an opponent's deflection. The distinction lies in the nature of how the ball is played, highlighting the fact that a deliberate play versus an accidental touch by a defender changes the ruling on offside.

Get further explanation with Examzify DeepDiveBeta

Yes, anytime a player is in an offside position

Yes, but only if the player interferes with the opponent

No, unless the player actively plays the ball

Next Question

Report this question

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy